type slowly.

sweet tooth.

Posted in words by Lara Crombie on October 14, 2009

I did it in the night time holding Cajun vowels beneath my tongue while you looked me straight and ran, toward hills and what you thought was almost free, so full of verse and stinking rose and tears from goddamn holy sties;

I did it for the rest stop on 110 where we rubbed bones and heard Oh Lord between the walls, where I made my mind to limbo and you watched the Limp and Slump hold their stomachs in distaste, two smokes from sending signals;

I did it when I could because I could because you’d say “I’m cold” and I’d say “baby, I’ll keep you warm,” because cheap velour looks good on me in a way that bends the knees, and somewhere Fatty warms her chords to croon the sins of thieves.

Leave a Reply

