type slowly.

A Poem a Day

Posted in sad triumphs by Lara Crombie on November 3, 2009

Have you ever agreed to do something laughably ambitious and then later, when the ramifications of your decision finally sink in, you panic and give up before trying? I have. I signed myself up for National Novel Writing month with the comical idea that I would write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Funny, right? It’s like a punchline that precedes the joke. Anyway, I’m comfortable admitting that I’m not a novelist. My literary skills are better suited for short, compact things like poetry and hateful indie rock reviews. Unfortunately I’m unable to completely give up this structured writing challenge (every time I visit my NaNoWriMo profile I see “0 words so far” and it mocks me), so I’ve compromised: a poem a day for 30 days. Completely feasible; easy even. There’s no excuse for failure.

Leave a Reply

